Skip to main content


Hitachi eBworx

March 30, 2019

Hitachi Badminton Tournament 2019

Petaling Jaya, 30 March 2019 - The 2019 edition of the Hitachi Badminton Tournament got off to a roaring start after Mr. Hiroyuki Yagi, Managing Director/Deputy CEO of Hitachi eBworx Sdn. Bhd. (Hitachi eBworx) gave a rousing speech and opened the competition with much applause and excitement. Riding on the success of the inaugural tournament last year, this year's competition saw an increased participation (24 teams with 48 players!) across the Hitachi Group of Companies in Malaysia, including Hitachi Asia (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. (HAS-ML), Hitachi Sunway Information Systems Sdn. Bhd. (Hitachi Sunway), Hitachi Consulting Malaysian Sdn, Bhd. (Hitachi Consulting) and MHPT Engineering Sdn. Bhd. (MHPT). All participants eagerly gathered on 30 March at Forum 19, Petaling Jaya, Selangor for this annual tournament.

Group photo of participants from the various Hitachi Group of Companies in Malaysia.

Starting off the competition was the Mixed Doubles’ team from Hitachi eBworx where Alan Tan and Elaine Tam breezed through to the finals where they faced defending champions - Chris Liew and Tee Cheng Suan from Hitachi Sunway. Despite losing the first set (19-21) after a nervy start, Alan and Elaine capitalised on the opponents' mistakes and fought through the second set, equalizing the score. With renewed confidence and precision, the pair claimed the championship in the final set.

“Defending champions of the Men’s Doubles team - Chee Yoong and Reyvent Liew bravely overcame much pain and exhaustion to secure their spot in the finals. Wrecked by muscle cramps in the previous rounds, the hobbled pair battled their opponents in the first set and limped into the second through sheer grit. Unfortunately, the team eventually succumbed to injuries and relinquished the championship to Mohammed Nasrullizam and Noradriyan Syah from MHPT.

Special mention to the Mixed Doubles team - Wei Keat and Sally Yap, as well as the Men’s Doubles team - Bernard Ler and Irvin Yap. Both teams from Hitachi eBworx claimed a well-deserved second runner-up spot.

The tournament ended with a photo-taking session as Mr. Yagi and Mr. Chew Huat Seng, Managing Director of HAS-ML both presented the awards to the winners. Mr. Chew further concluded the event with an inspirational speech and thanked the eBFunClub, including all supporters and volunteers who made this tournament a success!

Group photo of all winners. (Top row from left to right: Second runner-up - Bernard Ler and Irvin Yap; First runner-up - Reyvent Liew and Chee Yoong; Champions Noradyrian Syah and Mohammed Nasrulizam; Mr. Hiroyuki Yagi and Mr. Chew Huat Seng.) (Bottom row from left to right: Second runner-up - Wei Keat and Sally Yap; First runner-up - Tee Cheng Suan and Chris Lew; Champions - Alan Tan and Elaine Tam.)

Elaine Tam and Alan Tan ready to receive serve at the finals.

Serve from Wei Keat which got him the second runner-up position.

The Hitachi eBworx team was the main organizer of this tournament.

MHPT Team.

Hitachi Consulting Team.

The team from HAS-ML.

Hitachi Sunway Team.